Frankfort Alumnae Chapter

Frankfort Alumnae Chapter was chartered as Beta Upsilon Sigma graduate chapter on November 22, 1944 with twelve charter members. The first president of this new chapter was Soror Jennie V. Williams.

Prior to 1944, the graduate and undergraduate sorors in Frankfort, Kentucky were members of the same chapter, Alpha Pi. The combined chapter was located on the campus of Kentucky State College, which is now Kentucky State University.

In 1958, Grand Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated changed the names of all graduate chapters to reflect the city in which the chapter was located; thus, in December of 1958, Beta Upsilon Sigma became the Frankfort Alumnae Chapter.

Throughout its years of service, the chapter has developed several key programs in keeping with Delta Sigma Theta Sorority's Five Point Thrust of:

· Economic Development
· Educational Development
· International Awareness and Involvement
· Physical and Mental Health
· Political Awareness and Involvement

Specifically, the Frankfort Alumnae Chapter Scholarship program, Delta Academy, Delta GEMS, Breast Cancer Awareness-Day of Hope and Remembrance, Delta Day at the Capitol in Kentucky, Health and Wellness activities and seminars, and Annual Black History program have been vital chapter implementations to serve our community.

Additionally, the chapter participates in community activities such as Relay for Life, and other collaborations to recognize local women for outstanding community service, and for increasing voter registration.